1

Do You Need To Be Gluten-Free

What is Gluten-Free? Gluten-Free is simply food without Gluten. Gluten is a protein found in Wheat, Barley, Rye, Oats, all which are used in a lot of foods. Unless you have gluten intolerance symptoms, celiac disease, Wheat Allergies or other disorder where your doctor has told you to stop eating Gluten, then you shouldn’t stop eating Gluten.

A new study cautions that cutting out gluten, unless you have to may, actually could be a bad idea for your health. Going gluten-free means a person reduces their intake of whole grains, which are known to have cardiovascular health benefits. So, cutting out gluten unless medically necessary can potentially increase a person’s risk of heart problems. You also receive fewer nutrients leading to iron, calcium, thiamine, riboflavin, niacin, and folate deficiencies.

Now for those of you that have to go gluten free I have Good and Bad foods that are Gluten Free listed for you to chooses from. Live Health!!

Fruits and Vegetables

Following a gluten-free diet requires paying careful attention to both the ingredients of foods and their nutritional content. Many naturally gluten-free foods can be a part of a healthy diet. Fresh fruits and veggies are naturally gluten-free, but most canned, jarred, frozen fruits and veggie have gluten added for thickening up or flavoring. Always look at the ingredients.

Fruits

  • Acai
  • Apples
  • Apricot
  • Bananas
  • Blackberries
  • Blueberries
  • Cantaloupe
  • Carob
  • Cherry
  • Cranberries
  • Currants
  • Dates
  • Figs
  • Grapes
  • Guava
  • Honeydew Melon
  • Kiwi
  • Kumquat
  • Lemons
  • Limes
  • Mandarin
  • Mangoes
  • Oranges
  • Papaya
  • Passion Fruit
  • Peaches
  • Pears
  • Pineapples
  • Plantains
  • Plums
  • Persimmons
  • Quince
  • Raspberries
  • Strawberries
  • Tamarind
  • Tangerines
  • Watermelons

Veggies

  • Acorn
  • Agar
  • Alfalfa
  • Algae
  • Arrowroot
  • Artichoke
  • Arugula
  • Asparagus
  • Avocado
  • Beans
  • Broccoli
  • Brussel Sprouts
  • Cauliflower
  • Cabbage
  • Carrots
  • Celery
  • Corn
  • Cucumber
  • Eggplant
  • Garlic
  • Green Beans
  • Kale
  • Lettuce
  • Mushrooms
  • Okra
  • Onions
  • Parsley
  • Peas
  • Peppers
  • Potatoes (white and sweet)
  • Pumpkins
  • Radish
  • Spinach
  • Squash
  • Turnips
  • Watercress

Fruits and Vegetables to Avoid

You will need to check the ingredients listed on these items or avoid them all together and just eat fresh.

  • Canned fruits and vegetables may be canned with sauces that contain gluten. Fruits and vegetables canned with water or natural juices are likely gluten-free.
  • Frozen fruits and vegetables sometimes contain added flavorings and sauces that contain gluten. Plain frozen types are typically gluten-free.
  • Dried fruits and vegetables may include gluten-containing ingredients. Plain, unsweetened, dried fruits and veggies tend to be gluten-free.
  • Pre-chopped fruits and vegetables may be cross-contaminated with gluten depending on where they were prepped.

Meats And Other Gluten-Free Proteins

Meats are always gluten free unless processed, breaded or fried with breadcrumbs. If you want it breaded use gluten free flour for the batter. Avoid gravy as most gravy has gluten in it. Many foods contain protein. Animal and plant-based sources contain protein and most are naturally gluten-free. What out for gluten-containing ingredients, such as soy sauce, flour and malt vinegars that are often used as fillers or flavorings. They may be added to sauces, rubs and marinades that are commonly paired with protein foods.

MEATS

  • Alligator
  • Beef
  • Buffalo
  • Chicken
  • Duck
  • Goat
  • Goose
  • Lamb
  • Pork
  • Rabbit
  • Snake
  • Turkey
  • Quail
  • Veal
  • Venison

OTHER PROTEINS

  • Legumes (beans, lentils, peas, peanuts)
  • Nuts and seeds
  • Seafood (fresh fish, scallops, shellfish)
  • Traditional soy foods (tofu, tempeh, edamame, etc.)

Proteins to Avoid

Just like the Fruit and Veggies you will need to check the ingredients listed on these items or avoid them all together.

  • Processed meats, such as hot dogs, pepperoni, sausage, salami and bacon
  • Meat substitutes, such as vegetarian burgers
  • Lunch meats or cold cuts
  • Ground meats
  • Proteins that have been combined with sauces or seasonings
  • Ready-to-eat proteins, such as those in microwavable TV dinners.

Eggs and Gluten-Free Dairy Products

Most dairy products are naturally gluten-free. Those that are flavored and contain additives should always be double-checked for gluten. Common gluten-containing ingredients that may be added to dairy products include thickeners, malt and modified food starch.

  • Butter and ghee (be sure it has no additives)
  • Casein
  • Cheese
  • Cream
  • Eggs
  • Milk
  • Cottage cheese
  • Sour Cream
  • Yogurt- plain and not flavored
  • Whey

Dairy Products to Avoid

And as always you will need to check the ingredients listed on these items or avoid them all together.

  • Flavored milks and yogurts
  • Processed cheese products, such as cheese sauces and spreads
  • Ice cream, which is sometimes mixed with additives that contain gluten
  • Malted milk drinks

Gluten-Free Flour, Grains, and Wheat

This is where you have got to be very careful and really pay attention!

Most whole grains are naturally gluten-free but there are a few that not so be sure to check food labels when purchasing whole grains. Gluten-free whole grains can be contaminated with gluten, especially if they are processed in the same facility as gluten-containing foods. Oats are often processed in facilities that also process wheat, which can lead to cross-contamination. For this reason, you should confirm that the oats you purchase are certified gluten-free.

  • Almond Flour
  • Amaranth
  • Arrowroot
  • Bean flour
  • Besan
  • Brown rice
  • Brown rice flour
  • Buckwheat
  • Cassava
  • Corn flour
  • Corn meal
  • Corn starch
  • Cottonseed
  • Dal
  • Flaxseed
  • Millet
  • Oats
  • Pea Flour
  • Polenta
  • Popcorn – without coating
  • Potato flour
  • Quinoa
  • Rice
  • Sago
  • Sorghum
  • Soy Flour
  • Tapioca Flour
  • Taro Flour
  • Tef
  • Wild rice
  • Yeast
  • Yucca

Grains to Avoid

These gluten-containing grains are often used to make products like bread, crackers, pasta, cereals, baked goods and snack foods.

  • Wheat, all varieties (whole wheat, wheat berries, graham, bulgur, farro, farina, durum, kamut, bromated flour, spelt, etc.)
  • Rye
  • Barley
  • Triticale

Gluten-Free Beverages

Some beverages are mixed with additives that contain gluten as an ingredient. Some alcoholic beverages are made with malt, barley and other gluten-containing grains and should be avoided on a gluten-free diet. While these beverages are gluten-free, most of them are best consumed in moderation due to their added sugar and alcohol contents.

There are several types of gluten-free beverages for you to enjoy.

  • Water
  • 100% fruit juice
  • Coffee
  • Tea
  • Some alcoholic beverages, including wine, hard ciders and beers made from gluten-free grains, such as buckwheat or sorghum
  • Sports drinks, soda and energy drinks
  • Lemonade

Beverages to Avoid

  • Any beverage with added flavorings or mix-ins, such as coffee coolers
  • Distilled liquors, such as vodka, gin and whiskey, even when labeled gluten-free, as they are known to trigger a reaction in some people
  • Pre-made smoothies
  • Beers, ales and lagers made from gluten-containing grains
  • Non-distilled liquors
  • Other malt beverages, such as wine coolers

Double Check, Double Check, Double Check

Bottom line a gluten-free diet comes down to double-checking ingredient labels, as gluten is often added to foods that you wouldn’t expect. Foods like Spices, Sauce and Condiments that contain gluten will be labeled as such. If you focus on eating mostly fresh, whole, gluten-free foods and a minimal amount of processed foods, you will have no problem following a gluten-free diet. There are plenty of foods you can choose from to ensure a well-balanced diet.

Live a Healthy Lifestyle

 

dana beaver

One Comment

  1. What a nice post you wrote! I really enjoyed reading it and I could not be silent about your post so I decided to leave my comment here and say Thank You for sharing this quality post with others.
    Actually this is exactly the information that I was looking for information about the how to be Gluten-Free and when I landed on your website and read this post, it answered all my questions in detail.
    So I’m happy that you decided to write about this topic and share it with people. It’s very useful and can definitely be used as a great source for everyone who is interested in this topic.
    I will come back to your website again for sure and I’m looking forward to reading your new posts.)

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *